Home > DUI > . . .

Alabama DUI Information

The state of Alabama considers an individual to be DUI, which translates to driving under the influence, if their blood alcohol level is .08% or greater or in the event that the officer deems them incapable of driving safely.  A DUI incident may involve either alcohol and/or drugs, including the use of prescription drugs.

A first-time DUI offender may face a fine ranging anywhere from $600.00 to $2,100.00 and a 90-day driver’s license suspension.  In addition, offenders may be required to pay a $100.00 fine to the Impaired Driver’s Trust Fund and may face imprisonment of up to 1 year with no mandatory minimum sentence.

Upon conviction of DUI, every offender is required to undergo an alcohol assessment and/or evaluation in order to examine the scope of their alcohol problem.  The cost of the evaluation is approximately $50.00, which is generally paid by the offender.  Throughout the course of the evaluation, the offender may be referred to an educational or treatment program.  If this occurs, the offender is required to participate in the recommended plan of action.  Repeat offenders are often required to undergo a closely monitored out-patient treatment program, which is overseen by the court referral officer.  If the offender fails to comply with any of the requirements or recommendations, they will lose their right to apply for license reinstatement and may face further legal action.

Individuals who are under the age of 21, and possess a blood alcohol content of at least .02%, but not more than .08%, will face a 20-day suspension of their driver’s license.  In addition, $250.00 fines and required completion of a DUI and/or substance abuse program are not uncommon for juvenile offenders. 

Following an admission of guilt or a conviction, a DUI offender may face a rapid rise in their insurance rates.  Often, these rates become unmanageable and may result in the inability to make payments.  In some instances, an insurance company may drop the account for a DUI offender even if they are able to continue affording the high premiums.  If this should occur, it will be increasingly difficult to find another insurance company who is willing to accept the offender on any policy and, if they do, the rates will be much greater than the average driver who possesses a clean record.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.