Home > DUI > . . .

Alaska DUI Information

In Alaska, motorists who have a blood alcohol content of .08% of higher are considered to be DUI, which means driving under the influence.  This term is also often referred to as DWI, which translates to driving while intoxicated.

First time offenders for this crime will receive no less than 72 consecutive hours and no more than one year in jail.  The most commonly imposed sentence is three days of incarceration, which results in $270.00 costs payable by the offender.  In addition to time spent in jail, first time offenders are required to participate in 24 hours of community service.  Fines range from a minimum of $250.00 to a maximum of $5,000.00

First offences will receive a mandatory license suspension of no fewer than 90 days with a reinstatement fee of $200.00.  Alaska statutes indicate that any offenders, whose licenses are revoked by the court, will face the potential of further action by the DMV.  The revocation orders by both the court and the DMV may either run consecutively or concurrently upon the determination of the court.  If the suspected offender fails to adhere to a chemical test, the police officer may revoke the driver’s license immediately and issue a ‘Notice and Order of Revocation.’  At the discretion of the court, a limited license privilege may be granted in order to allow the DUI offender to drive to and from work.  This is only granted upon the determination that the driver is capable of operating an automobile without a great risk to the public.  If the DMV has also suspended the driver’s privileges, he/she must also request a limited license be granted by providing certification of employment and proof of attendance with an alcohol counseling program.

Every offender is required to attend any educational or treatment program recommended as a result of the alcohol evaluation/assessment.  First time offenders must attend classroom instruction consisting of 8 to 15 hours at costs ranging from $20.00 to $150.00.  The alcohol assessment will determine the scope, if any, of the necessary treatment.  Offenders who fail to comply with any of the recommendations or requirements will lose their eligibility for license reinstatement, as well as becoming subject to further legal action and possible incarceration.

Following a guilty plea or conviction, DUI offenders will likely face a large increase in insurance rates.  This often results in the costs becoming unmanageable or, in the worst case, an insurance company may drop the policy completely.  In this scenario, the offender would be forced to search for another insurance company, who would offer insurance at a very high rate if they are even willing to accept the driver.

Individuals under the age of 21 will face the same penalties as adult offenders.  Individuals who are involved in an accident that leads to serious injury or death, as a result of DUI, may face felony charges.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.