Home > DUI > . . .

Arizona DUI Information

The majority of arrests in Arizona, which result from driving under the influence, consist of two common charges.  The first being driving while impaired and the second resulting from having  a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher within two hours of driving.  Typically, offenders are charged with both acts. 

First time DUI offenders will face license revocation and/or suspension for a minimum of 90 days and a maximum of two years.  The final decision is generally based on prior incidents, if any, and the number of such offenses.  First offense typically carries a $250.00 fine and incarceration for one day.  At it’s discretion, the court may order a minimum of 10 consecutive days in jail up to a maximum of six months.  Unless a more serious DUI offense is committed, defendants are likely to be granted probation and ordered to attend a recommended drug and/or alcohol treatment program.  If probation is granted, it will likely range from one to five years  In addition, offenders may be ordered to submit $250.00 payable toward the Arizona DUI abatement fund.  Fines can, however, reach as high as $2,500.00 in addition to surcharges.

Extreme DUI offenses, which feature a blood alcohol content of .15% or higher, may carry more serious penalties.  Incarceration may be ordered as 30 consecutive days in addition to fines and license revocation.  In some situations, an ignition interlock device will be placed on the offenders vehicle to ensure compliance with the law of not operating a vehicle with any alcohol in the his/her system.

If an individual refuses to take a blood alcohol content assessment, their driver’s license may be suspended for up to one year.  This applies regardless of the outcome, including a not guilty verdict in court.

In some instances, a first time DUI offender may be granted a restricted license.  This allows the driver to drive to and from work, doctor appointments and in order to attend counseling and/or treatment sessions.  An individual who does not cause serious physical injury, and has not been previously convicted of DUI, is eligible to request a restricted license.

Youthful offenders, under the age of 21, who possess a blood alcohol content of .18% or less may face incarceration for up to 10 days, a fine, license suspension for up to two years and possible community service.  Extreme offenses, which result in serious physical injury to another person or persons and/or a blood alcohol content above .18%, will carry the same criminal penalties as adult offenders.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.