Home > DUI > . . .

Arkansas DUI Information

In Arkansas, any individual with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is guilty of DUI or DWI.  Anyone under the age of 21, with a blood alcohol content of up to .08%, is considered to be DUI (driving under the influence).  DWI, which is the abbreviated term used to describe driving while intoxicated, generally refers to the adult offense.  Any person who is ticketed for DWI must apply for a hearing within seven days or face an automatic license suspension to take effect 30 days from the date of the arrest.

Firs time offenders in Arkansas will face incarceration ranging from a minimum of one day to a maximum of one year.  At it’s discretion, the court may suspend the jail term in exchange for the defendant participating in community service.  The defendant will also be ordered to pay a fine ranging from $150.00 to $1,000.00 in addition to court costs, which are estimated at $300.00.  If the blood alcohol content test concludes less than .08%, the offender will face a license suspension of up to 120 days or six months for drugs.  Under certain circumstances, individuals may be eligible to request a restricted license, which will allow them to operate their motor vehicle to and from work, school, medical appointments and court ordered treatment programs.

If a blood alcohol content test is refused by the offender, a restricted license will not be available for a minimum of 90 days.  In addition, the refusal to submit to a test may result in an automatic license suspension of up to 180 days.  If the blood alcohol content is determined to be greater than .18%, the court may order an ignition interlock device in order to ensure compliance with the law.  In addition, any offender will be required to participate in an alcohol education program at their expense.  During this time, the offender will be evaluated for possible in-patient treatment or further recommendations for counseling.

Youthful offenders, which are categorized as being under the age of 21, are guilty of DUI if any alcohol is found in their system.  In this scenario, even youthful offenders are subject to adult fines and penalties.

Upon an admission of guilt or a similar verdict by the court, many insurance companies will either raise their rates dramatically or drop the account completely. If this should happen, it will be difficult to find another insurance carrier that is willing to work with someone who has a previous DUI/DWI charge and/or conviction.  In the event that an insurance company is willing to offer a policy, the rates will likely be significantly higher than an individual with no previous offenses.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.