Home > DUI > . . .

California DUI Information

A first time DUI offense, in California, typically carries a $1,200.00 fine and three years of probation.  In addition, a community service program may be ordered by the court along with a 90-day license restriction.  This period typically begins following the conclusion of any DMV suspension, which is often four months.  First time offenders are usually required to attend educational classes ranging from three to six months with a timeframe to be determined based upon their proven blood alcohol content.

In California, as is the case with most other states, the court and DMV suspension orders are completely separate from one another.  This means that both parties can suspend the offender’s license and have varying requirements for applying for reinstatement.  Upon the expiration of a court ordered suspension, the offender is not automatically eligible to regain his/her license until the ordered DMV suspension is also concluded.  In some instances, even if an individual is found not guilty in court, the DMV may revoke driving privileges and vice versa.  DUI offenders may be required to attend both court and DMV hearings.

In some instances, the offender may be eligible to request a restricted license.  This means that they would be permitted to drive to and from work, school, medical appointments and/or required treatment/counseling sessions.

While undergoing the legal ramifications of DUI, many offenders are faced with problems relating to his/her insurance company.  Upon conviction or admission of guilt, many insurance companies will raise the defendant’s rates dramatically.  This often results in the inability to afford payments or, in worse case scenarios, some insurance companies will drop the client altogether.  If this should occur, the offender will have to look elsewhere to obtain insurance company, which can be very difficult while carrying a driving record with a DUI reference.  If the offender is fortunate enough to find a carrier who will issue a policy, the rates will likely be very high and feature less coverage than a person with a clean driving record.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.