Home > DUI > . . .

Colorado DUI Information      

In Colorado, an individual may either be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI). This state’s drunk driving law consists of both a criminal case, which involves potential incarceration, alcohol classes, court imposed fines and costs, community service and a civil case that involves the potential for having a driver’s license revoked.  Anyone who has been arrested for DUI must request a hearing at the DMV within one week or face an automatic license suspension for 90 days.

First offences typically carry a fine ranging from $300.00 to $1,500.00 with possible incarceration for a minimum of five days and a maximum of one year.  For first time offenders, 10 days in jail is common.  In addition, driver’s licenses are often suspended for one year and the offender is ordered to community service ranging from 48 to 96 hours.  Depending on the blood alcohol content as determined by the officer’s evaluation, offenders may be required to attend alcohol education classes and/or therapy.

If an offender is convicted as having a blood alcohol content of .20% or higher, he/she may face fines ranging from $500.00 to $1,500.00 and jail time ranging from 90 days to 1 year.  In this instance, 10 days of incarceration is required.  In addition to a license suspension of 1 year, the offender may also be required to perform community service for a minimum of 60 hours and up to a maximum of 120 hours.  A youthful offender, which is defined as anyone under the age of 21, is subject to penalties and fines similar to those placed upon adults.

Upon conviction or an admission of guilt, DUI offenders are often faced with problems relating to their insurance company.  Immediately being labeled as “high risk,” offenders are sometimes dropped by their insurance company altogether or, at the very least, are required to pay much higher rates than before.  If an insurance company cancels the policy and leaves the offender to search for a new carrier, he/she may have a difficult time finding a new company willing to offer a policy. 

In Colorado, the estimated costs involved with a DUI arrest, including fines, possible insurance rate increases, required alcohol classes, attorney and miscellaneous fees, is just below $9,000.00.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.