Home > DUI > . . .

Florida DUI Information

In Florida, anyone with a blood alcohol level of .08%, or greater, is considered to be DUI.  State law permits offenders to be imposed with a fine ranging from $250.00 to $5,000.00 and/or incarceration for up to five years.  A first offender, however, will typically face a fine ranging from $250.00 to $1,000.00 and a minimum of 50 hours of community service.  In some situations, the court may grant probation.  This would allow for the offender’s jail time to be suspended in exchange for time served in a treatment program.

An offender has 10 days in which to request a hearing in order to prevent his/her driver’s license from being automatically suspended.  In most instances, the offender’s automobile will be impounded.  In a situation where an offender’s blood alcohol content was .20% of higher, his/her automobile may be required to feature an ignition interlock device.  This unit prevents anyone from operating the vehicle if there is any alcohol in their system.                       

First time offenders can expect to receive a license suspension ranging from 180 days to one year.  Future offenses will feature harsher penalties, including a second offense which carries a minimum license suspension of five years.  Anyone refusing to submit to a blood alcohol content test, on the other hand, may face additional suspension and/or penalties.

Florida offenders may be required to undergo some type of alcohol evaluation and/or treatment program if the court deems it necessary.  In some cases, a hardship license may be issued if the court feels the driver is not a threat to the general public.  This type of temporary license will allow the offender to drive to and from certain places, including work, school, medical appointments and/or treatment programs.

Individuals who are involved in a DUI, which causes personal injury or death, may face felony charges and much harsher penalties.

Upon conviction or an admission of guilt, DUI offenders are commonly faced with problems relating to their insurance company.  Immediately being labeled as “high risk” drivers, offenders are often dropped by their insurance company altogether or, at the very least, are required to pay much higher rates than before.  In the event that the offender is forced to look for a new insurance provider, he/she may have a difficult time finding a new company who offers high risk policies but, if they do, the rates will likely be extremely high for the amount of coverage granted.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.