Home > DUI > . . .

Georgia DUI Information

In Georgia, any individual with a blood alcohol level of .08% or higher is considered to be DUI.  In some instances, individuals may be arrested if they appear to be under the influence of either alcohol or drugs even if their blood alcohol content is less than that required to demonstrate a DUI offense.  First time offenders, within a five year period, will face a fine ranging from $300.00 to $1,000.00 plus surcharges.  In addition, offenders may be incarcerated for a period of not less than 10 days and no more than 12 months, with all but 24 hours being potentially suspended, stayed or probated at the court’s discretion.  If the offender enters a plea of guilty, or is convicted of DUI, he/she may be placed on probation for up to 12 months.

Georgia law requires that a minimum of 40 hours of community service be performed with the exception of anyone under the age of 21, who must perform at least 20 hours of public service.  In addition, after a first offense, the individual must request a hearing within 10 business days following his/her arrest or face having their driver’s license suspended for a period of one year.  If the offender completes an alcohol and/or drug course, he/she may be able to have their license reinstated after 120 days.

During the first six months of suspension, some individuals may be eligible to receive a limited driving permit.  This will entitle them to drive to and from work, school, medical appointments and court ordered treatment programs.  A limited driving permit is valid for 30 days.  Youthful offenders, on the other hand, are defined as anyone under the age of 21 who possesses a blood alcohol content of .02% or higher  In this scenario, the underage offender will face a license suspension for six to 12 months with no possibility of obtaining a limited permit.

If drugs are found to be a part of any DUI conviction, the offender will lose his/her license for a period of one year with no possible reinstatement for six months and no limited driving permit.  If a suspect should refuse to submit to a blood alcohol content test, their license ill be automatically suspended for one year.

Following a guilty verdict or an admission of the same, the majority of insurance carriers will increase their rates dramatically or, in some cases, may even drop the offender’s coverage altogether.  In this scenario, the driver is labeled as “high risk” and may find it difficult to find another insurance company who is willing to accept them on a policy.  In the event that another insurance company is found, their rates will likely be very high for the amount of coverage offered solely because of the DUI on the offender’s driving record.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.