Home > DUI > . . .

Indiana DUI Information

In Indiana, an individual is legally intoxicated if their blood alcohol content is determined to be .08% or higher.  Every offender faces the potential of 60 days to one year of incarceration with no minimum sentence.  In addition, a determination of guilt carries a potential fine ranging from $500.00 up to $5,000.00 with no required minimum.

If a blood alcohol content test reveals a level of .08%, or higher, this finding may result in a 180 day suspension of driving privileges. If the case is concluded, the suspension may be reduced to a minimum of 30 days depending on the outcome.  Some individuals may request a hardship license after 30 days, which will allow the offender to operate a motor vehicle to and from work, school, medical appointments and court ordered treatment programs.  As a condition, offenders may be required to operate only a vehicle that has been equipped with an ignition interlock device, which will prevent them from driving if alcohol is present in their system.

The state of Indiana offers a deferment of charges to first time offenders.  Providing they satisfactorily complete a recommended alcohol evaluation and treatment program, charges are dismissed.  This program is a one-time opportunity and may not be repeated for future offenses.

Individuals are required to submit to any blood alcohol content test, as requested by the officer, or face an automatic one year suspension of their driver’s license.  Youthful offenders, who are defined as anyone under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol content level between .02% and .08%, are subject to the same penalties as adult offenders.  The only exception is that youth offenders may be subject to a one year license suspension as opposed to the 180 day suspension, which is often imposed on adults.

In an instance that a DUI results in serious injury or death to another person or persons, the offender may be charged with felony DUI and therefore be subject to much harsher penalties.

Upon conviction or an admission of guilt, many DUI offenders will commonly face problems relating to their insurance company.  Immediately being labeled as “high risk” drivers, offenders are often dropped by their insurance company altogether or, at the very least, are required to pay much higher rates.  In the event that the offender must search for a new insurance provider, he/she may encounter difficulty in finding a new company who offers high risk policies.  If a new insurance company is accepting, the rates will likely be extremely high for the amount of coverage granted.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.