Home > DUI > . . .

LouisianaDUI Information

In Louisiana, anyone with a blood alcohol level of .10%, or greater, is considered to be DUI.  First time offenders will face 10 days to six months in jail.  If the blood alcohol content was determined to be .15%, or higher, the offender will face a minimum of 48 hours in jail without the potential for a suspended sentence.  In addition to potential incarceration, fines ranging from $300.00 to $1,000.00 will be imposed along with surcharges and other fees.

In certain situations, probation may be granted to offenders who served at least two days in jail or participated in 32 hours of community service, attended a court-approved alcohol and substance abuse treatment program and a driver improvement course.

First time DUI offenders will find that their driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 90 days without the option of obtaining a hardship license for one month.  Youthful offenders, who are under the age of 21 and possess a blood alcohol content of .02% or higher, will face a required license suspension of 180 days.  As youthful offenders, individuals under the age of 21 are subject to the same penalties as adults.  In some instances, these penalties can be avoided if the offender participates in the required treatment programs and community service.

A hardship license, which is often referred to as a restricted license, is granted in a situation where the offender is permitted to drive to and from work, school, medical appointments and/or court ordered treatment programs.  Louisianalaw indicates that each restricted license will disclose the permissible time and routes that the offender may drive.  If the offender refused to submit to a blood alcohol content test, however, he/she will not be eligible for a hardship license for 90 days and will face automatic license suspension for a period of 180 days.

Individuals who are involved in a DUI, which causes personal injury or death, may face felony charges and much harsher penalties.

Upon conviction or an admission of guilt, DUI offenders are commonly faced with problems relating to their insurance company.  Immediately being labeled as “high risk” drivers, offenders are often dropped by their insurance company altogether or, at the very least, are required to pay much higher rates than before.  In the event that the offender is forced to look for a new insurance provider, he/she may have a difficult time finding a new company who offers high risk policies but, if they do, the rates will likely be extremely high for the amount of coverage granted.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.