Home > DUI > . . .

Maine DUI Information

In Maine, if an individual is proven to have a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher, he/she is considered to be legally intoxicated.  Offenders face an immediate suspension of their license, which will be upheld for a minimum of 90 days.  If the offender was driving with passengers under the age of 21, an additional 275 day license suspension may be imposed.

Generally, first time offenders will not face incarceration unless there were aggravating circumstances present.  This may include a blood alcohol content of .15% or higher, traveling 30 mph above the posted speed limit, attempting to elude a police officer, refusing to adhere to a blood alcohol content test or transporting passengers under the age of 21.  First offenses will typically carry a $400.00 fine.

If an individual is convicted of DUI and he/she refuses to submit to a blood alcohol content test, an additional 90 day license suspension may be imposed in addition to a minimum of 96 hours in jail.  A refusal of testing will result in a loss of license for a minimum of 275 days, which will run consecutively with any other suspension imposed as a result of a DUI conviction.

If a first time offender is found guilty of aggravating circumstances, he/she will be ordered to participate in an alcohol education program.  According to the alcohol evaluation, any offender may be ordered to participate in a treatment program if it is determined that one is needed.  In addition, some individuals may be ordered to install an alcohol ignition interlock device, which will prevent the offender from driving if there is any alcohol in his/her system.  The installation is ordered at the expense of the offender and, in some cases, may result in a reduction of the license suspension.

Youthful offenders, who are defined as anyone under the age of 21 with a measurable amount of alcohol in their system, are subject to license revocation for a period of one year.  Refusal to submit to testing will result in additional suspension.  In addition, youthful offenders who have a passenger under the age of 21 will face an additional 180 days suspension and will be subject to criminal prosecution if the offender’s blood alcohol content is .08% or higher.

Individuals who are involved in a DUI, which causes personal injury or death, may face felony charges and much harsher penalties.

Upon conviction or an admission of guilt, DUI offenders are commonly faced with problems relating to their insurance company.  Immediately being labeled as “high risk” drivers, offenders are often dropped by their insurance company altogether or, at the very least, are required to pay much higher rates than before.  In the event that the offender is forced to look for a new insurance provider, he/she may have a difficult time finding a new company who offers high risk policies but, if they do, the rates will likely be extremely high for the amount of coverage granted.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.