Home > DUI > . . .

Maryland DUI Information

In Maryland, anyone with a blood alcohol content of .07% to .08%, or higher, is considered to be DUI.  First time offenders face a number of penalties, including up to two months incarceration and fines of up to $500.00.  The offender is required to request a hearing within 10 days or face an automatic driver’s license suspension.  Any suspect who refuses to undergo testing will be faced with an automatic license suspension for 120 days regardless of the outcome, including the determination of innocence.

If an individual’s blood alcohol content is determined to be .08%, or higher, they are considered to be DWI.  This is the abbreviated form used to describe driving while intoxicated.  Because of the elevated level of alcohol present in the system, the fines and penalties are higher.  Among them, up to one year in jail, $1,000.00 in fines and a 60 day license suspension are several penalties facing DWI offenders.

The majority of first time offenders are eligible for probation, which is ultimately at the discretion of the judge.  In some instances, the court may order an alcohol evaluation in order to determine whether or not the offender is in need of further treatment and/or counseling.  As a condition of probation, the court may order that an ignition interlock device be installed in order to prevent the offender from driving in the event that alcohol is present in his/her system.  The device is installed at the expense of the offender and, in some cases, may reduce the driving privileges suspension period.  Another condition of probation is often a required attendance to a driver improvement and/or alcohol education program.

Youthful offenders, who are defined as individuals under the age of 21 who possess a blood alcohol content of .02% or greater, will face a fine of up to $500.00 and potential license suspension.

Individuals who are involved in a DUI, which causes personal injury or death, may face felony charges and much harsher penalties.  In addition, anyone convicted of a DUI while transporting a passenger under the age of 18 may face fines of up to $4,000.00 and incarceration for up to four years.

Upon conviction or an admission of guilt, DUI offenders are commonly faced with problems relating to their insurance company.  Immediately being labeled as “high risk” drivers, offenders are often dropped by their insurance company altogether or, at the very least, are required to pay much higher rates than before.  In the event that the offender is forced to look for a new insurance provider, he/she may have a difficult time finding a new company who offers high risk policies but, if they do, the rates will likely be extremely high for the amount of coverage granted.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.