Home > DUI > . . .

Mississippi DUI Information

If an individual possesses a blood alcohol content of .08%, or higher, they are considered to be DUI in the state of Mississippi.   A first time DUI offender can expect to receive an imposed fine ranging from $250.00 to $1,000.00 and no more than 48 hours in jail.  In some instances, the court may grant the offender with an alternative to jail, which may include attendance at a victim’s impact panel.  In addition, the offender can expect to have his/her license and driving privileges suspended for a minimum of 90 days and continuing until such time that an alcohol safety education program is completed.  The suspension, however, will not exceed one year.

After 30 days have passed since the time of license suspension, the court may order first offenders with a hardship license.  At it’s discretion, the court may conclude that further revocation would create problems for the offender to continue work, school or attending medical appointments.

Anyone under the age of 21, who possesses a blood alcohol content of .02% or higher, will be subject to a 90 day license suspension and may be fined up to $250.00 for the first offense.  In addition, the court may order the youthful offender to complete an alcohol safety education program in addition to possibly attending a victim impact panel.

If any person refuses to submit to alcohol testing, his/her license will be automatically suspended for 90 days.  Regardless of the outcome, including a  not guilty verdict, a driver who refuses to submit to such testing will be charged with DUI.  Individuals who are involved in a DUI, which causes personal injury or death, may face felony charges and much harsher penalties.

Upon conviction or an admission of guilt, DUI offenders are commonly faced with problems relating to their insurance company.  Immediately being labeled as “high risk” drivers, offenders are often dropped by their insurance company altogether or, at the very least, are required to pay much higher rates than before.  In the event that the offender is forced to look for a new insurance provider, he/she may have a difficult time finding a new company who offers high risk policies but, if they do, the rates will likely be extremely high for the amount of coverage granted.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.