Home > DUI > . . .

Nebraska DUI Information

In Nebraska, anyone with a blood alcohol level of .08%, or greater, is considered to be DUI.  First time offenders will face a minimum of seven, and a maximum to 60, days in jail. In addition to potential incarceration, fines of up to $400.00 will be imposed along with surcharges and other fees.

First time DUI offenders will find that their driver’s license may be suspended for a mandatory minimum of six months.  The arresting officer may revoke the offender’s license immediately if the results of the alcohol test is positive.  In some instances, offenders may receive a 30 day temporary license.  If anyone refuses to adhere to alcohol testing, their driving privileges may be revoked for up to one year with the potential for additional criminal charges.          

An offender convicted of DUI will also be responsible for the costs associated with any court ordered alcohol evaluation and/or treatment program.  In certain situations, an employment driving permit may be issued during the administrative license revocation process.  This temporary permit will allow the offender to operate his/her motor vehicle to and from work.  In addition, anyone who fails their alcohol test will be required to install an ignition interlock device.  This product, which is installed at the expense of the offender, will prevent him/her from operating their car if any alcohol is present in their system.                                               

Youthful offenders, who consist of anyone under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol content of .02% or higher, will be subject to potential fines and/or having their driver’s license suspended for a period of 30 days for the first offense and up to one year on any subsequent offenses. 

In the event that the court is willing to grant probation, the offender will remain subject to a 60 day license revocation and a fine.  Individuals who are involved in a DUI, which causes personal injury or death, may face felony charges and much harsher penalties.  In addition, anyone convicted of DUI who was also transporting a passenger under the age of 16 will face additional penalties.

Upon conviction or an admission of guilt, DUI offenders are commonly faced with problems relating to their insurance company.  Immediately being labeled as “high risk” drivers, offenders are often dropped by their insurance company altogether or, at the very least, are required to pay much higher rates than before.  In the event that the offender is forced to look for a new insurance provider, he/she may have a difficult time finding a new company who offers high risk policies but, if they do, the rates will likely be extremely high for the amount of coverage granted.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.