Home > DUI > . . .

New Hampshire DUI Information

In New Hampshire, anyone with a blood alcohol level of .08%, or greater, is considered to be DUI.  A blood alcohol level of .16%, or greater, is subject to aggravated DUI charges and will entail higher penalties and/or fines.  First time offenders will generally not face any jail time, but will face fines ranging from $350.00 to $1,000.00.

In addition to regular fines, the offender may be required to reimburse public agencies for their costs incurred as a result of responding to the negligent use of vehicles.  The offender may be liable for up to $10,000 in related costs.  In lieu of reimbursement, some offenders may be permitted to serve 500 hours of community service.

First time offenders can expect to receive a license suspension ranging from 90 days to two years.  Anyone refusing to submit to a blood alcohol content test, on the other hand, will face an additional license suspension for 180 days.  This suspension will not be concurrent with any other imposed penalties. 

New Hampshire offenders may be required to undergo some type of alcohol evaluation and/or treatment program if the court deems it necessary.  In some cases, a hardship license may be issued if the court feels the driver is not a threat to the general public.  This type of temporary license will allow the offender to drive to and from certain places, including work, school, medical appointments and/or treatment programs.

Youthful offenders, who are considered to be under the age of 21 with any trace of alcohol in their system, will be subject to license revocation for a period of six months.  Individuals who are involved in a DUI, which causes personal injury or death, may face felony charges and much harsher penalties.

Upon conviction or an admission of guilt, DUI offenders are commonly faced with problems relating to their insurance company.  Immediately being labeled as “high risk” drivers, offenders are often dropped by their insurance company altogether or, at the very least, are required to pay much higher rates than before.  In the event that the offender is forced to look for a new insurance provider, he/she may have a difficult time finding a new company who offers high risk policies but, if they do, the rates will likely be extremely high for the amount of coverage granted.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.