Home > DUI > . . .

New Jersey DUI Information

In New Jersey, anyone with a blood alcohol level of .08%, or greater, is considered to be DUI.  First time offenders will face a minimum of 12-48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and, at the discretion of the court, the potential for 30 days or less of incarceration.  In addition, the offender will face fines ranging from at least $250.00 to a maximum of $400.00 and an additional $1,000.00 surcharge to the New Jersey DMV per year for a period of three years.

First time offenders can expect to receive a license suspension ranging from six months to one year.  Anyone refusing to submit to a blood alcohol content test, on the other hand, will face license suspension for an additional six months.

New Jersey offenders may be required to undergo some type of alcohol evaluation and/or treatment program if the court deems it to be necessary.  Anyone convicted of DUI will likely be required to complete a program with the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and/or participate in a program relating to the education of alcohol and highway safety. In some cases, a hardship license may be issued if the court feels the driver is not a threat to the general public.  This type of temporary license will allow the offender to drive to and from certain places, including work, school, medical appointments and/or treatment programs.

Youthful offenders, who are categorized as being under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol content of .01% or greater, are considered to be DUI.  First time offenders will be subject to license revocation for 30-90 days and be required to perform community service from 15-30 days.  In addition, youth offenders will be required to undergo an alcohol evaluation followed by completion of a program at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and/or relating to alcohol education and highway safety.

Individuals who are involved in a DUI, which causes personal injury or death, may face felony charges and much harsher penalties.

Upon conviction or an admission of guilt, DUI offenders are commonly faced with problems relating to their insurance company.  In addition, the Division of Motor Vehicles will impose a required insurance surcharge ranging from $3,000.00 to $3,500.00.  Immediately being labeled as “high risk” drivers, offenders are often dropped by their insurance company altogether or, at the very least, are required to pay much higher rates than before.  In the event that the offender is forced to look for a new insurance provider, he/she may have a difficult time finding a new company who offers high risk policies but, if they do, the rates will likely be extremely high for the amount of coverage granted.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.