Home > DUI > . . .

North Carolina DUI Information

In North Carolina, anyone with a blood alcohol level of .08%, or greater, is considered to be DUI.  An individual who can be proven to have been impaired, either physically or mentally, by alcohol, drugs or a combination may also be charged with DUI.  First offenses often carry a one year license revocation period and a fine of up to $100.00.  A minimum of 24 hours incarceration, 24 hours of community service, 30 days without a restricted license or a combination may also be imposed on a first time offender.  The maximum penalties for a first offender would include a fine of up to $2,000.00 and incarceration from 14 days up to two years.

First time offenders can expect to undergo an alcohol evaluation and a potential court ordered substance abuse treatment program.  This type of treatment may be in addition to attending alcohol safety school, which is required for all North Carolina DUI offenders.  Anyone refusing to submit to a blood alcohol content test will also face an immediate license revocation lasting for a minimum of 30 days, along with a one year DMV revocation.  In certain situations, the court may issue a limited driving privilege, often referred to as a hardship license, after six months.

Youthful offenders, who consist of anyone under the age of 21 with any trace of alcohol in their system, will be subject to license revocation for a period of one year.

There are often more serious charges associated with DUI, including a blood alcohol content of more than .16%.  In this scenario, the offender will be required to install, at their expense, an ignition interlock device.  This unit will prevent the offender from operating his/her motor vehicle if they have any alcohol present in their system. In addition, individuals who are involved in a DUI, which causes personal injury or death, may face felony charges and much harsher penalties.

Upon conviction or an admission of guilt, DUI offenders are commonly faced with problems relating to their insurance company.  Immediately being labeled as “high risk” drivers, offenders are often dropped by their insurance company altogether or, at the very least, are required to pay much higher rates than before.  In the event that the offender is forced to look for a new insurance provider, he/she may have a difficult time finding a new company who offers high risk policies but, if they do, the rates will likely be extremely high for the amount of coverage granted.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.