Home > DUI > . . .

Pennsylvania DUI Information

In Pennsylvania, anyone with a blood alcohol level of .08%, or greater, is considered to be DUI.

In recent years, the state of Pennsylvania has adopted a new policy that allows for an individual’s blood alcohol level and the number of violations to be a determining factor in what type of punishment he/she will receive.  With a blood alcohol content of .08%, the offender will not face any jail time or loss of license, but will be placed on a maximum of 6 months probation. In addition, the offender will be required to pay a fine of up to $300.00.  Anyone with a blood alcohol content of .10%, or higher, will face mandatory jail time in Pennsylvania and fines will increase significantly.  Speaking of which, anyone refusing to submit to a blood alcohol content test will also face increased penalties.  Among them, a minimum of 72 hours of incarceration, up to six months probation and a minimum fine of $1,000.00.

Pennsylvania offenders may be required to undergo some type of alcohol evaluation and/or treatment program if the court deems it necessary.  In some cases, a probationary license may be issued if the court feels the driver is not a threat to the general public and he/she has taken appropriate steps to indicate that they are capable of responsible operation of an automobile.  This type of temporary license will allow the offender to drive to and from certain places, including work, school, medical appointments and/or treatment programs.  An occupational limited license is available to select offenders after he/she has served 60 days of license suspension.  With this type of license, the offender is permitted to drive to and from work and/or court ordered rehabilitation programs.

Youthful offenders, who consist of anyone under the age of 21 with any trace of alcohol in their system, will be subject to license suspension for a period of up to one year, a substance abuse evaluation, fines of up to $500.00 and possible court ordered treatment programs.  Individuals who are involved in a DUI, which causes personal injury or death, may face felony charges and much harsher penalties.

Upon conviction or an admission of guilt, DUI offenders are commonly faced with problems relating to their insurance company.  Immediately being labeled as “high risk” drivers, offenders are often dropped by their insurance company altogether or, at the very least, are required to pay much higher rates than before.  In the event that the offender is forced to look for a new insurance provider, he/she may have a difficult time finding a new company who offers high risk policies but, if they do, the rates will likely be extremely high for the amount of coverage granted.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.