Home > DUI > . . .

South Carolina DUI Information

In South Carolina, anyone with a blood alcohol level of .08%, or greater, is considered to be DUI.  If an individual possesses a blood alcohol level of .05% but less than .08%, that individual may still be charged with DUI if other evidence is available that proves the offender was under the influence.  First time offenders will generally be subject to 48 hours to 30 days of incarceration, along with a fine of up to $400.00 plus surcharges and other fees.  In some situations, community service may be performed in lieu of imprisonment. 

First time offenders can expect to receive a license suspension of six months.  Anyone refusing to submit to a blood alcohol content test, on the other hand, will face an additional automatic license suspension for a period of 90 days.

South Carolina offenders may be required to undergo some type of alcohol evaluation and/or treatment program if the court deems it necessary.  In some cases, a restricted license may be issued if the court feels the driver is not a threat to the general public.  This type of temporary license will allow the offender to drive to and from certain places, including work, school, medical appointments and/or court ordered treatment programs.

Youthful offenders, who consist of anyone under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol content of .02% or greater, will be subject to an automatic license suspension for up to 3 months.  Anyone under the age of 21 who refuses to submit to testing will find that their license may also be automatically suspended for a period of 6 months.  Individuals who are involved in a DUI, which causes personal injury or death, may face felony charges and much harsher penalties.

Upon conviction or an admission of guilt, DUI offenders are commonly faced with problems relating to their insurance company.  Immediately being labeled as “high risk” drivers, offenders are often dropped by their insurance company altogether or, at the very least, are required to pay much higher rates than before.  In the event that the offender is forced to look for a new insurance provider, he/she may have a difficult time finding a new company who offers high risk policies but, if they do, the rates will likely be extremely high for the amount of coverage granted.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.