Home > DUI > . . .

Utah DUI Information

In Utah, anyone with a blood alcohol level of .08%, or greater, is considered to be DUI.  First time offenders will be subject to a minimum of 48 hours, and a maximum of six months, in jail.  In some cases, community service may be granted in lieu of 48 hours of incarceration.  First offenders will also face a fine ranging from $1,295.00 to $1,850.00.  In addition, an offender may be subject to possible automobile impoundment lasting from one to 30 days.

First time offenders can expect to receive a license suspension up to 90 days.  Anyone refusing to submit to a blood alcohol content test, on the other hand, will face an additional license suspension for 180 days. This suspension will not be concurrent with any other imposed penalties. 

Utah offenders may be required to undergo some type of alcohol evaluation and/or treatment program if the court deems it necessary.  Most individuals will be required to attend a ‘Prime for Life’ class and possibly be ordered to install an ignition interlock device on his/her automobile.  If the offender’s blood alcohol level was high enough for the court to order this installation, the offender will be responsible for the cost.  The device is used to prevent the offender from operating his/her motor vehicle if they have any alcohol present in their system. 

In some cases, a conditional license may be issued with a ‘no alcohol’ restriction placed on the offender’s driving privileges upon the reinstatement of his/her license.  This simply means that the individual must not drive with any alcohol in their system, which will be a 2 year requirement under the conditional license.

Youthful offenders, who consist of anyone under the age of 21 with any trace of alcohol in their system, will be subject to the same fine and penalties as adults.  The only difference will be that, rather than jail time, the youth offender will spend their time in a juvenile correctional facility.  As a juvenile, the offender’s parents may be held liable for any/all fees associated with the conviction.

Individuals who are involved in a DUI, which causes personal injury or death, may face felony charges and much harsher penalties.  The same is true of anyone found to be transporting a passenger, or passengers, under the age of 16 while being under the influence.                                                

Upon conviction or an admission of guilt, DUI offenders are commonly faced with problems relating to their insurance company.  Immediately being labeled as “high risk” drivers, offenders are often dropped by their insurance company altogether or, at the very least, are required to pay much higher rates than before.  In the event that the offender is forced to look for a new insurance provider, he/she may have a difficult time finding a new company who offers high risk policies but, if they do, the rates will likely be extremely high for the amount of coverage granted.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.