Home > DUI > . . .

Vermont DUI Information

In Vermont, anyone with a blood alcohol level of .08%, or greater, is considered to be DUI.  First time offenders are not subject to a mandatory minimum jail sentence, but will face a fine of up to $750.00.  In addition, offenders will be responsible for additional fees and surcharges, including the victim’s restitution fund, the health department’s laboratory services, public defenders fund and the drunk driving law enforcement fund.  The determination of a first time offender is made through research of the driver’s lifetime record.  Some states have a ‘look back’ period of several years, but the state of Vermont reviews the entire driving record in order to determine whether or not an individual is a first time offender.  This also includes any previous convictions in another state.

First time offenders can expect to receive a license suspension for a minimum of 90 days.  Anyone refusing to submit to a blood alcohol content test, on the other hand, will be ordered to complete an alcohol and driver education program and an alcohol assessment.  If the offender fails to comply, he/she will not be eligible for reinstatement of their driving privileges and may be ordered to reappear in court for further action.

Vermont offenders may be required to undergo additional treatment programs if the court deems it necessary.  In some cases, a hardship license may be issued if the court feels the driver is not a threat to the general public.  This type of temporary license will allow the offender to drive to and from certain places, including work, school, medical appointments and/or treatment programs.

Youthful offenders, who consist of anyone under the age of 21 with any trace of alcohol in their system, will be subject to similar fines and penalties as an adult.  Individuals who are involved in a DUI, which causes personal injury or death, may face felony charges and much harsher penalties.

Upon conviction or an admission of guilt, DUI offenders are commonly faced with problems relating to their insurance company.  Immediately being labeled as “high risk” drivers, offenders are often dropped by their insurance company altogether or, at the very least, are required to pay much higher rates than before.  In the event that the offender is forced to look for a new insurance provider, he/she may have a difficult time finding a new company who offers high risk policies but, if they do, the rates will likely be extremely high for the amount of coverage granted.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.