Home > DUI > . . .

Wyoming DUI Information

In Wyoming, anyone with a blood alcohol level of .08%, or greater, is considered to be DUI.  There is no minimum jail sentence for first time offenders with a low blood alcohol content, which means that most will not be incarcerated, but will typically face fines ranging from $200.00 to $750.00.  First offenders are usually placed on probation for a period of 6 months, during which they must complete a court approved alcohol education and/or treatment program and possibly participate in community service.  The final determination as to which treatment program(s) is required will be based on the findings of the alcohol evaluation, which is required of all offenders.  After the program is completed and probation concludes without incident, the offender’s record is cleared of the DUI.  This probationary program is a one-time offering and is only available to first time offenders.

First time offenders can expect to receive a license suspension of up to 90 days.  Anyone refusing to submit to a blood alcohol content test, however, will face an additional license suspension.  In some cases, a hardship license may be issued if the court feels the driver is not a threat to the general public.  This type of temporary license will allow the offender to drive to and from certain places, which may include work, school, medical appointments and/or treatment programs.

Youthful offenders, who consist of anyone under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol level of .02% or greater, will be subject to license revocation for 90 days and a fine of up to $750.00 for the first offense.  Individuals who are involved in a DUI, which causes personal injury or death, may face felony charges and much harsher penalties.

Upon conviction or an admission of guilt, DUI offenders are commonly faced with problems relating to their insurance company.  Immediately being labeled as “high risk” drivers, offenders are often dropped by their insurance company altogether or, at the very least, are required to pay much higher rates than before.  In the event that the offender is forced to look for a new insurance provider, he/she may have a difficult time finding a new company who offers high risk policies but, if they do, the rates will likely be extremely high for the amount of coverage granted.

 

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: This website provides only general information intended to be a starting point for most legal issues. This information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to create any binding advisory relationship. Do not take action based upon this information unless you consult with an attorney or other specialist.